The Time Now > Convert EST to IST

Convert EST to IST

Time Zone Converter: Eastern Standard Time to India Standard Time

What Time is it in EST Now?

09:47:55 EST
Friday, Jul 21, 2017

What Time is it in IST Now?

20:17:55 IST
Friday, Jul 21, 2017
Eastern Standard Time India Standard Time
12:00am - 00:00 10:30am - 10:30
01:00am - 01:00 11:30am - 11:30
02:00am - 02:00 12:30pm - 12:30
03:00am - 03:00 01:30pm - 13:30
04:00am - 04:00 02:30pm - 14:30
05:00am - 05:00 03:30pm - 15:30
06:00am - 06:00 04:30pm - 16:30
07:00am - 07:00 05:30pm - 17:30
08:00am - 08:00 06:30pm - 18:30
09:00am - 09:00 07:30pm - 19:30
10:00am - 10:00 08:30pm - 20:30
11:00am - 11:00 09:30pm - 21:30
12:00pm - 12:00 10:30pm - 22:30
01:00pm - 13:00 11:30pm - 23:30
02:00pm - 14:00 12:30am - 00:30
03:00pm - 15:00 01:30am - 01:30
04:00pm - 16:00 02:30am - 02:30
05:00pm - 17:00 03:30am - 03:30
06:00pm - 18:00 04:30am - 04:30
07:00pm - 19:00 05:30am - 05:30
08:00pm - 20:00 06:30am - 06:30
09:00pm - 21:00 07:30am - 07:30
10:00pm - 22:00 08:30am - 08:30
11:00pm - 23:00 09:30am - 09:30

Perhaps the most complicated time zone conversions are the ones that require you to cross several zones. In the case of EST to IST, there is a difference of nine hours and thirty minutes between the two locations. On this page you will find a live clock that shows the time in both zones, along with a chart that can help you easily convert between the two.

If you find yourself away from a computer or internet enabled device, here is an example of how to convert times between Eastern Standard Time and India Standard Time:

If it is 1:01 PM in the Eastern zone, then it is 10:31 in the India time zone. The Eastern time zone is offset from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) by -4:00 hours, while the India time zone is offset from UTC by +5:30 hours.

It is worth noting that many of the locations in the EST zone also observe the practice of Daylight Saving Time, which pushes the clocks an hour forward in the spring, resulting in a new time zone that is known as Eastern Daylight Time or EDT.

The Eastern Time Zone

This time zone is located on the eastern coast of the North American continent, the coast of which borders the Atlantic Ocean. Various countries in the Caribbean use either this time zone, or some variation of it. For example, Cuba has its own time zone in the same relative area called Cuba Standard Time, which is UTC -5:00.

One state in Mexico, Quintana Roo switched away from EST and after two years of lobbying from hotel owners, was approved to switched back to the Eastern time zone as of February 1, 2015. In addition, several U.S. states are split between two time zones, with a portion in this one and a portion in another. They are as follows:

Alabama - The entire state is in the Central zone, but some communities observe the Eastern time unofficially.

  • Florida - The Florida Panhandle west of the Apalachicola River falls outside of the Eastern time zone.
  • Indiana - The exception here are six northwestern counties in the Chicago area, and six counties in the Evansville area.
  • Kentucky - This state is split in half between two time zones.
  • Michigan - The vast majority of the state is in the Eastern zone, but there are small areas that on other times.
  • Tennessee - Three eastern Tennessee counties are on Central time.

  • The India Time Zone

    Also known as Indian Time, this zone is unique in that it is a half-hour time zone instead of the usual one hour interval. It covers the entirety of India and Sri Lanka. It was established after the country gained independence in 1947. For a brief time during the China-Indian War of 1962, the country observed DST, but presently it is not observed.

    The country’s width of over 1,200 miles covers 28 degrees of longitude. This causes the sun to set almost two hours earlier on the eastern border than in the west. During the late 1980s, it was proposed that the country should be split into two or three time zones, to save energy but this was not adopted.

    There are still people seeking additional time zones, but these proposals must be approved by the Central Government of India.